The Diocese of Oxford

The Church of England is divided into 44 dioceses. The Diocese of Oxford covers Oxfordshire, Berkshire and Buckinghamshire and is one of the largest in the country. The Diocese of Oxford has more churches than any other Diocese in the C of E, and two-thirds of them are Grade I or Grade II* listed buildings. 

The Benefice and Deanery lies at the north east corner of the Diocese of Oxford, sharing its border with the Diocese of St Albans to the south and east.

The Bishop of Oxford is the most senior appointment of the Church of England in the Diocese. He has a wide-ranging role across the Thames Valley area as well as national responsibilities. As Diocesan Bishop, he is responsible for the entire Diocese, and has particular responsibility for Oxford and Cowley deaneries.

Within the Diocese there are three Area Bishops and three Archdeacons:-

The Bishop of Oxford: 

Acting Bishop of Oxford:-  
Rt Revd Colin Fletcher

The Area Bishops:

Bishop of Buckingham:  Rt Revd Alan Wilson
Bishop of Reading:  Rt Revd Stephen Cottrell
Bishop of Dorchester:  Rt Revd Colin Fletcher

The Archdeacons:

Archdeacon of Buckingham: Post vacant (Formerly Venerable Karen Gorham)
Archdeacon of Berkshire:  Venerable Norman Russell
Archdeacon of Oxford: Venerable Julian Hubbard

N.B.  The Benefice of the Brickhills and Stoke Hammond lies within the Buckingham area.

To find out more about the Diocese visit the website where you can register to subscribe to the Diocesan e-news:-