The Benefice of:

The Brickhills &
Stoke Hammond


Revd John Waller
The Rectory
10 Pound Hill 
Great Brickhill
Milton Keynes
MK17 9AS
Tel: 01525 261062

Synod - Deanery, Diocesan & General

A synod is a formal meeting of Christians by which the Church is governed.  These have taken place from the Council of Jerusalem (described in the Bible in Acts 15) onwards, and such General Councils have regulated doctrine and discipline.  More locally, synods meet in the various provinces of the Church to govern its affairs. 

The Church of England has three tiers of Synods:  Deanery Synods, Diocesan Synods and the General Synod.

Deanery Synod
Each deanery has its own Deanery Synod which consists of lay members, elected at Annual Parochial Church meetings, and the clergy of the deanery, who meet under the joint chairmanship of the Area (Rural) Dean and the Lay Chair.  Members are elected for 3 years and address issues of concern to the church and community at local level.
For details of the our local Deanery Synod please go to the "Deanery" section.

Diocesan Synod
The Diocesan Synod considers matters sent to it from General Synod and from deanery synods, formulates diocesan policy on a wide range of issues, advises the bishop as appropriate and votes the funding of stipends and administration to be raised from the parishes.
For details of the Oxford Diocesan Synod please go to the "Diocese" section.

General Synod
The General Synod is the national assembly of the Church of England. It came into being in 1970 replacing an earlier body known as the Church Assembly. It continues a tradition of synodical government which, in England, has its origins in the medieval period.

Bishop's Council
The Bishop’s Council is responsible for considering matters of policy; advising the Diocesan Bishop, and determining how matters should be taken forward to the Diocesan Synod for further consideration.

Powered by Church Edit